Rotary Champions is an annual event presented by the Rotary clubs of the Pikes Peak Region. The awards ceremony is held to honor outstanding scholar-athletes from El Paso and Teller County high schools who have placed a high value on academics and leadership in school, community, and home.

Through Rotary Champions, recognition is given to approximately 400 outstanding scholar-athletes from high schools throughout the Pikes Peak Region. From this elite group, 25 nominees, each representing a CHSAA-sanctioned sport, are awarded a Champions Medallion. The top female and male scholar-athletes are selected to receive our Rotary Champion Scholar-Athlete of the Year Award, which includes a $5,000 college scholarship, paid over four years, and a trophy. Since 1985, Rotary Champions has awarded 60 scholarships totaling $300,000.

The Rotary Champions Foundation is a Colorado 501 (c) (3) not-for-profit corporation.

The 2017 Rotary Champions Awards Ceremony will be held on Monday, May 8, 2017, at the Pikes Peak Center. Last year, approximately 400 student-athletes were nominated by 30 high schools in the Pikes Peak region. The Male Scholar-Athlete of the Year was Andrew Weiss of Rampart High School.  Edie Statham of Lewis-Palmer High School was chosen as the Female Scholar-Athlete of the Year. In addition, the "Ian Weikel Champion of Service Award", given to the student who exemplifies community service in his or her daily life, was awarded to Andie Turner of Lewis-Palmer High School.  

Qualified Nominees:

The minimum requirements for nomination include:  participation in a CHSAA sanctioned varsity sport; a grade point average of 3.0 or higher; evidence of leadership in school, community, and home.  Parents, students, and school officials are encouraged to participate in the nomination process.  Nominees will be instructed by their coach or Athletic Director to complete the Champions nomination application via our website.  User names and passwords will be provided by the Athletic Director.

Please click here for the Rotary Champions Nomination Form.

Ticket Information: 

Admission is complimentary for all Champion nominees as well as for guest ages 12 and under. Tickets for family members and guests are available for $10 each. Tickets can be obtained either at the Pikes Peak Center or World Arena box office, or over the telephone by calling 719-960-4725 between the hours of 10 am and 6 pm. Tickets purchased over the telephone will be available at will-call for pick-up the day of the event.

Guest Speaker:

The 2017 event will feature speaker Hunter Kemper, the most decorated U.S. triathlete in history.  A four-time member of the USA Olympic triathlon team, Kemper is one of only two men in the world to compete in the first four Olympic triathlons (2000, 2004, 2008 and 2012).  Former guest speakers for this event include Bart Starr, Gayle Sayers, Bill McCartney, Lynne Cox, Fisher DeBerry, Hugh McCutcheon and Karl Mecklenburg.

2016-2017 Event Calendar: 
Friday, December 2, 2016 - Fall Nominations Due

Friday, February 3, 2017 - Winter Nominations Due 

Monday, April 10, 2017 - Spring Nominations Due 

Monday, April 10, 2017- Group Pictures Due  (please email in JPG format to marycavanaugh@comcast.net)

Monday, May 8, 2017 - Event Date




Program Sponsors:

Powered by DublinBlue